About Us

If this is your first visit to MelakaCool.com, we would like to take this opportunity to say Hello and

Selamat Datang!

We have a lot of things planned for MelakaCool. Hope that you will enjoy your stay.

About MelakaCool

MelakaCool is written in Bahasa Malaysia and English. For specific articles in English, you can read them here.

The blog focus is on Melaka.

The attractions here, the best food in Melaka, where to stay in Melaka and everything related to Melaka. Including local news and events.

If you have something to share and would like to write about Melaka, you are welcome as our guest blogger. Details here.

About The State of Melaka

The state of Melaka is the third smallest state in Malaysia after Perlis and Penang. It is located in the southern region of the Malay Peninsula, next to the Straits of Malacca. It borders Negeri Sembilan to the north and Johor to the south. It is about 148 km from Kuala Lumpur, 235 km from Johor Bahru and 245 km north of Singapore.

Melaka is connected by the PLUS North-South Expressway. Driving to Melaka own your own is easy.

The state is divided into 3 districts: Central Malacca, Alor Gajah, and Jasin. The state includes 2 islands – Pulau Besar and Pulau Upeh.


Malaysia has an equatorial climate with uniform temperatures throughout the year. Temperatures range from 32°C during the day to 22°C at night.


The Malaysian currency is the Malaysian Ringgit(MYR). The current exchange rates (updated 2nd May 2020):
1 USD to MYR = 4.30
1 GBP to MYR = 5.37
1 EURO to MYR = 4.77
1 SGD t0 MYR = 3.04
100 JPY to MYR = 4.02


Malays who make up about 57% of the population in Malaysia are the predominant group with Chinese, Indians and other ethnic groups making up the rest.


Bahasa Melayu (Malay) is the national language but English is widely spoken. The ethnic groups also speak various languages and dialects.


Islam is the official religion but all other religions are freely practiced.

3 thoughts on “About Us”

  1. Noraien Amira Zakaria

    Assalamualaikum. saya Noraien Amira bt Zakaria pelajar photmedia kreatif di UiTM Puncak Alam. Saya ingan bertanyakan tentang latihan praktikal di surat khabar Melaka Hari Ini sebagai Photojournalist and Media pada awal tahun hadapan. Saya harap pihak tuan dapat beri peluang kepada dan saya mengharapkan maklum balas dari pihak MHI, supaya pihak saya dan universiti dapat siapkan dokumen resume untuk praktikal dengan kadar segera. Terima kasih.

  2. Greetings from Perth Western Australia
    I am amazed at the growth and vibrancy of Melaka since I served at Terendak 50 years ago. Truly wonderful. However I am nostalgic for how it was back in the mid 1960’s. I loved the climate. food and the people of all races and when I had to leave I didn’t want to go. When the packers arrived I went for a walk so as not to see my happy world being taken apart.. I want to try to get in touch with some people that I remember. Specifically I would like to share some photo’s I have for a beautiful Malay style wedding my family and I were invited to at Kampong Kerubong. Many of the children I photographed would be parents themselves now. Could your wonderful newspaper help in any way. Thank you in anticipation. Rick Clare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top