GE13: Malacca State Assembly Dissolved

Malaysia’s Parliament dissolved today to pave way for the country’s 13th general election. The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, in the presence of his Cabinet ministers, also announced that he has instructed state chief ministers (CMs) and Menteri Besars (MBs) to dissolve their respective state assemblies so that the 13th General Election and state polls can be conducted simultaneously.

And in Malacca, Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam announced the dissolution of the Malacca state, after chairing the last executive council meeting at 3.45pm at Seri Negeri today.

He said the existing administration in all departments would continue functioning as the caretaker government until the new government was formed after the 13th general election.

In the 2008 general election, out of 28 state seats, 23 went to Barisan Nasional while 5 to DAP. BN won 5 parliamentary seats while DAP got 6. Although the majority was won by BN is Malacca, the Barisan National government lost its two-thirds parliamentary majority for the first time in 2008 elections and faces a confident three-party opposition alliance led by former deputy prime minister Anwar Ibrahim in this coming tightly contested race.

It’s going to be a very tough fight this time around. Let’s vote for our right. No matter which party you choose and no matter which party wins, be civilized.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top